top of page

Starbucks Coffees & Juices ⑨


I have spent a LOT of time in Starbucks around the Houston area the last few years, and have experienced abundant favor in the locations I've frequented! Setting aside all religious junk about their logo (I don't worship a green woman); the staff is incredibly welcoming, the service is attentive and prompt, and their drinks are spot on every single time! It's also been an amazing ministry opportunity, of course!

I've tried several new drinks in the past month and discovered several new favorites. The first is their Strawberry Acai with Lemonade! I personally enjoy things outside the norm, so I'm not surprised I loved this. This pink juice is made from green coffee extract, infused with passion fruit, and strawberry acai. The pink coloring comes from freeze-dried strawberries. It is SO light and refreshing; probably why they call it a refresher!

My second new favorite is the Citrus Green Tea Blended Creme; made from micro-ground, full leaf green tea, blended with a citrus mint syrup, milk and ice then topped with whipped cream, and sprinkled with "lemon essence", which in essence is lemon sugar. The dominant flavor is green tea with light undertones of various citrus flavors; it's creamy and hits you with a brief tart aftertaste. It reminds me of something you'd drink on a hot summer day, while sitting on your back porch swing, listening to the birds chirp.

My third and ultimate new favorite is their seasonal "Smoked Butterscotch" Frappuccino! The woman who made one for me, knew me well; she filled the bottom with thick Butterscotch, drizzled Butterscotch all over the cup, added extra Smoked Butterscotch Syrup then topped the milk and ice blended treat with whipped cream and even more Butterscotch drizzle. I have a strong tolerance for flavor, so the extra everything-butterscotch was beyond delightful to my palette. All I can say is WHOA! This drink isn't playin'; it's FULL of intense butterscotch flavor with a lingering smoked bite at the end. It's a powerful drink; packed with a serious punch. If one could put butterscotch in a smoker; this is what it would taste like!

Some other interesting flavors I discovered during a tasting were their lightest roast with a strong coffee aroma, but lighter on the taste buds, yet it sticks to your throat. It's good with cream and sugar in the raw and pairs well with their chocolate chip cookie. I also tasted their darkest roast that holds a strong aroma and even stronger taste, yet this one is much smoother and the flavor doesn't linger as long. It's nicely paired with their cinnamon and sugar roll, but if you don't like coffee; this would be too much. Overall, Starbucks has unique flavors you can depend on. There's a Cherry Blossom Frappuccino I have my eye on next...

Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page