top of page

Risen the Movie ④


I don't like to give movies low ratings when they contain context about Jesus; but I can't help but advocate the truth. The Lord also gave me an eye for production, directing, and editing; so those things are HIGHLY important!

On the production side, it wasn't too bad. Joseph Fiennes did a pretty good job as the main character, costuming was on point, and the music was decent, but some of the content wasn't biblical. I completely understand the concept of the story being told from the viewpoint of a Roman soldier who didn't believe Jesus rose from the dead; but there were very private moments between Jesus and His disciples where they interjected the soldier.

For example; after Jesus rose from the dead, He was eating with His disciples. In the movie, the Roman soldier was in the back of the room witnessing the meal. Some other things happened that I don't want to give away, and again it made sense to the plot, but the Lord was alone with His disciples at times for a reason.

There was one scene that really impacted my heart, but I can't say what it was without telling part of the story, so it would make for a good rental movie night at home. There was lots of drama and even some funny portions, but I gave it 4 1/2 hearts because no matter how good a film's production is; the context is key, especially when it comes to the gospel.

Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page