top of page

Dixie Stampede - Branson MO ⑥


Did I mention Branson is one of my favorite places? I'm sure my repertoire will expand, but this has been like home away from home. I've been to the Dixie Stampede several times and it's always a down-home good time! I don't particularly care for the pre-show necessarily; which consists of various acts like dancing and comedy, but they do serve good popcorn and drinks in their Dixie novelty boot cups.

The show itself is the story of the war between the North and the South. It's interactive, so they do their best to rally each side of the stadium to supportive chanting. I'm not fond of war related events, but I love horses and it's cool to see all of them and the tricks people do while riding.

My favorite part of the show was the women who wore dresses full of lights (lights are one of my favorite things) . They were raised up in the air in a pavilion, began dancing with cowboys and their gowns, as well as the men's outfits, lit up! This picture doesn't do it justice; it looked pretty cool with the lights dim.

Now, my favorite part of the entire experience is the food! I should just accept the truth that I'm a foodie. They serve you incrementally and all of the food items are eaten with your hands; they do not give you utensils, only napkins! I think that's a fun idea. But not only is it fun, it's GOOD! They give you this awesome soup you drink straight from the bowl then you get an entire roasted hen all to yourself! Their sides are corn, cheddar biscuits, and a roasted potato with unlimited drink of your choice in a mason jar. Dessert is typically an apple turnover; I don't usually like apple desserts, but this one is tasty! After the show you can walk the stables to look at the horses that were in the show.

It's an all-around laid back time for the family with a decent show and really yummy grub! One thing I noticed is that's it a well-oiled machine; the timing of the show, the food, and how the servers pull it all off without a hitch. Regular adult tickets are $50, children $30; preferred seating (which is just up close) is $5 more.

Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page