top of page

Grand Palace Theater - Branson, MO ⑧


Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO

I spent about two years of my life going to Branson nearly every weekend; it became my home away from home. The Grand Palace Theater is where I spent most of my time and it was probably some of the most fun of my life! The outside of the building was slightly intimidating the first few times I visited; but the inside is even more grandiose. The moment you step inside, you feel like royalty with majestic staircases and exquisitely elaborate décor fit for a mansion; it’s absolutely breathtaking!

Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO
Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO

I wish I had more photos of the auditorium and stage; it seats about 4,000 and if you’re used to small theaters, this one can be overwhelming. I got to see how the lighting booth worked, which was awesome to watch during each show. I saw the Rockettes in the Radio City Music Christmas, Kenny Rogers, Barbara and Louise Mandrel, even Yakov Smirnoff, and many others that I can’t remember off the top of my head. Each act was distinctly different with its staging, props, lighting, and music; but every time was fun to watch.

Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO
Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO

They had a souvenir shop just outside the auditorium where you could purchase Grand Palace merchandise, as well as items specific to that night’s performer. My favorite part was the candied nuts they sold; warm, candied walnuts and pecans, each in their own decorative wrapping, and they were so delicious!

Grand Palace Theater Branson, MO

To my sad surprise, the Grand Palace was bought out in 2014 by the people who operate Branson’s Hollywood Wax Museum. I’ve read a couple of articles on the estate purchase, but I have yet to see what their plans are for the property. The Grand Palace was the main attraction on the strip; bringing in hundreds of thousands, if not millions of people every year. I have been so eager to go back, but there’s no telling when it will be back in operation or what it will even be by the time it’s up and running again. Insert major sad face.

Comments


Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page