top of page

Granny Dee's Kitchen ⑧


Granny Dee's Kitchen

My husband brought me back some food from someone he called “Grandma Dee”; it was a container full of fried catfish and some sides. My grandparents lived on a farm where they raised, grew, caught, and made everything themselves, so I was pretty much raised on catfish. It’s probably because I ate so much of it growing up that I haven’t particularly preferred it in my adult years; not to mention no matter where I get it from, I’m always disappointed due to lack of flavor.

Granny Dee's Kitchen

However, I decided to give this “Grandma Dee” a chance. I’M GLAD I DID! This was the BEST fried fish I’ve ever eaten in my life! After he got the food, it was at least 30 minutes before it reached me; the outside was still crisp, the fish itself was very tender, and the flavors were exactly how I like them…BOLD! I could taste the fish, but there were definitely multiple herbs and spices used in the process. I made several demonstrative faces from being in shock. Not only did I like it…I loved it, and I wanted more! It’s my guess that she adds a little extra dash of love to her recipes!

Granny Dee's Kitchen

My husband and I travel a lot, and fried fish has never been on my radar when given options; but I have taken special note of this place, and we have mutually agreed to be intentional on going back…REPEATEDLY! I’d also like to add that my husband shared with me a conversation he had with Grandma Dee herself about our travels in ministry. At the end he said they hugged, as she spoke these encouraging words, “when you’re doing the Lord’s work, it will always work out.” I am praying I get the privilege of meeting this sweet woman very soon, and I’m glad she’s a hugger because I want to hug her guts out!

Comments


Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page