top of page

Mel's Country Cafe - Tomball TX ⑤


Mel's Country Cafe

I give sweet Mel's Country Cafe 5 hearts. There was so much going on that day; not just in my life, but apparently at the restaurant that it was a bit chaotic. I ordered fried catfish, which I don't actually like, so perhaps this rating isn't fully quite fair; I recommend checking it out for yourself.

Mel's is really just one of those mom and pop diners that serves down-home cookin'; that place your family drives by on a road trip and decides to "stop and try it". After all the food was served; my overwhelming, immediate thought was that I was being bombarded with "fried". Nearly everything on our table was fried and it began to run together; I struggled to tell the hush puppies from the shrimp. The atmosphere had a slightly loud buzz, but the wait staff was prompt, attentive, friendly, and they never let us run out of drinks. It was definitely a family atmosphere.

Mel's Country Cafe

They are also the home of the "Mega Mel Challenge"; where customers can attempt to eat this half-a-cow on a stick in two hours or less...without getting sick. If you're able to down this 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef, 1 pound of bacon, 1/4 pound of cheese, and all the trimmings; you'll get your picture and name featured on Mel's Facebook Wall of Fame, Again, they have a rather extensive menu and perhaps I would have a different opinion if I'd ordered something I actually like, but go ahead and give it a try.

Comments


Featured Reviews
Latest Reviews
Archive
bottom of page